As noted by this op ed…and something I’ve long suspected…. what we all want is a “wife…” What does this article tell you about womens’ roles?  Read on…
Op-Ed Contributor
My So-Called Wife
By SANDRA TSING LOH
Published: January 24, 2010
… a recent Pew study that found that the proportion of American marriages in which the wife makes more money rose to 22 percent in 2007 from 4 percent in 1970…
As more women have taken on a breadwinning role and men and women have transformed into domestic co-laborers, the Art of the Wife is disappearing.  NYT
2 responses

  1. Darleen says:

    After my 9-5, the two night classes, I get home by 11pm. having a wife to get my dinner ready, clothing ironed for the next day, would be fantastic. So if wife means, having a caring person there to pick up the slack after my hard work day, then I WANT A WIFE TOO

  2. emilienn says:

    Having been raised in a culture where women roles were clearly defined to be FIRST and foremost take care of the house and the children, I truly appreciate having a husband who has taken on more of “Wife” role of cooking, cleaning and taking care of the children while I work full time and complete my degree.