Most New Yorkers over the age of twenty-one are seen at the hottest clubs or bars during the weekend. I happen to be amongst that group that loves to be caught on ridiculously long lines of certain clubs.I had come across a video on youtube that had to do with discrimination against race and other physical features at nightclubs. I immediately felt that I had to share it with all of you. I can remember at least a couple of incidences where I witnessed discrimination on who gets to go in the club.

One night my girlfriends and I decided to go out to one of the clubs in the upper east side, (not going to mention which) as we approached to ID check the bouncer had asked one of my girlfriends to step off the line. Now to me this was odd because she is over 21 and should have had no problem at all. So of course I stepped off with her just to see what is going on. A friend of mine that works at the club had then pulled me aside and said all the girls I was with are good to go except for her. Their excuse: “ She is fat and not the best looking, the club has a reputation to uphold”. I didn’t tell her what was wrong so I made up a story, and we left.

I was in shock! The fact that they turned her away because she was chunkier just makes  me furious. What is even more sad is that this wasn’t the first or last time I had seen such a thing happen. Clubs tend to rank how good-looking and well dressed you are; even what color your skin is. If your skin is the wrong color you have to  make up for it with your looks and clothes.

What upset me even more is that, in the video it was mentioned,

“They don’t directly tell you that the reason you can’t get in is because you’re a certain race, they simply blame it on the clothes you wear.”

However, Lalla(the African-American man being interviewed in the beginning) came in on a different day to the same nightclub with a group of white people and was let in without a problem. Who would have thought that a night out with your friends can be judged upon what you’re wearing and how you look.

*this video isn’t about NY nightlife but this kind of thing happens everywhere

2 responses

  1. sarahatt says:

    Wow. I am shocked myself to see how people especially a nightclub can judge your appearance on what you wear and how you look compared to others. This can hold a bad reputation especially if the girl finds out someday that she was not let in because she” was chunkier” than all the others. This is also bad because you were planning on going out to have fun and instead was rejected to get in and I guess the night club didn’t mind loosing the money that they were going to make. That is insane.

  2. Jennifer Dzurita says:

    It shouldnt matter what you look like to get into a club. As long as you are 21 with no intention to cause any problems you should be let in. I experienced a similar situation this summer.
    I work in a predominantly Irish town where everyone knows everyone else. I spent most of my weekend nights at the same bar with my coworkers who were all from this town. Near the end of the summer my friend and I who are both not from the neighborhood went to the bar together. We happen to have very curly dark hair, tanner skin and are somtimes confused for being some kind of Spanish ethnicity. We were told our IDs were fake (they were not) and we were not allowed in. When we tried to tell him he was wrong he got very mad so we left.
    The next two times I tried to get in with people from the neighborhood he again didn’t let me in. The funny thing was, he let in the two girls I was with who were underage, along with other people from the neighborhood who were alot younger than me. I was very annoyed because I knew at least 3 of them who were 18 and a handfull more who were 19 and 20 year olds were allowed in the bar. Why wouldnt he let ME in? I looked like my ID, I WAS my ID and I was older than alot of the people there.
    My friend who also didnt get in with me reminded me how close the town was and how alot of them don’t like those who aren’t from the neighborhood. It also didn’t help that we did not look Irish in any way. It was hard to boycott going to this bar when all of our friends from work would spend the weekends there so eventually I had one of my friends who worked there speak with the bouncer and he let me in the rest of the summer but made it obvious he wasn’t happy about it. I never knew how frustrating it was to be discriminated against until that day. That was the first time it ever happened and I would like it to be the last but in the society we live in it’s likely to happen often.