According to an article in the “New York Daily News,” the 2010 census illustrates an increase in the white population. Whites represent 72% of the U.S. population due to Hispanics checking off the white racial category in the census. Furthermore the increase isn’t as large when considering that the Whites represent 64% of the U.S. population without Hispanics.  This revelation could be used to support or discredit the sociological theory involving the depletion of racial and ethnic distinctions. According to William Frey, a demographer at the Brookings Institution, “There is no question that racial lines are blurring in the United States.”  In order to support the disappearance of race and ethnicity, one can claim that by Hispanics not choosing “other” they are joining forces with another race. On the other hand, this article could emphasize the dominance of race in our society by claiming that logically Hispanics chose the more influential race; instead of identifying themselves as Black, Asian, or Native American/Pacific Islander.

The concept of race and ethnicity has confused me on what should I answer if asked, “What’s your race?” I know now that being Hispanic, specifically Puerto Rican is considered an ethnic group. As for race, I don’t consider myself apart of any of the aforementioned categories. The only choice left to say would be “other” but it is a word that makes me feel like a foreigner or an alien that is left out of the American shared practice of race.

One response

  1. jessvega says:

    As a Hispanic, the title automatically grabbed my attention. I am glad I read your post, because I definitely go through the same dilemma when asked to choose a race that I mostly relate to. However, when I see the options, I feel like I don’t belong to any. As a result, I end up checking “other”, but that sense of not belonging is there. I am human and I was born in the united states, yet what defines me on the census is “other”. I always get frustrated with this topic because as a large, growing minority group I feel like the census does not accurately do us justice. I can’t speak for every hispanic person, but I do not consider myself white, even if they are the dominating group. So until there is a change, I feel like this will always be a dilemma for me.