I came across an article the other day about a school in Canada that opened a few years back.  The article is a little dated, but I thought it was still interesting to bring up.  In Ontario, Canada, a school opened up for only black students.   It is called an “Africentric” school, and it is a school that focuses on African culture, as well as the standard curriculum.  I thought it was interesting that they opened a school that voluntarily segregated black students, whether it was to focus on culture or not.  Personally, I don’t agree with the idea.  Outside of school, in the real world, these kids are going to have to work with all types of people, of all backgrounds.  One parent in the article mentions that her son was the only black student in his class at his previous high school, and while that may be difficult for him, he could possibly face other situations like that once he graduates into the working world, so why not prepare him for that now?  It is great that it focuses on African culture, but if parents are concerned about culture, I say do it within your own homes.  Why have a teacher do that job for you?  Overall, I believe that these schools have good intentions, but aren’t the best for the students involved.

Here’s the link to the article:

http://www.thestar.com/education/backtoschool/article/692804

One response

  1. Tamara Lindor says:

    While I agree with your comments about this school not representing the “real world” and real life, historically black colleges and universities (HBCU’s) have existed for years and those individuals who graduate from them tend to fair the same if not better theb their African American counterparts. As for the “Africentric” experience/culture I dont see anything wrong with teaching that in highschools I know for me personally it wasn’t until I got to college that I learned about other important African American figures like Nat Turner and Malcolm X