Few weeks ago my friend brought to my attention that she think that everyone is racist. I was surprise about her bringing that topic up to me. Therefore I ask why she thinks that; she said I should try to be aware about how people talk and the different terms & phrases we use. I took into to hand what she told me, I did some research and I agreed with her.

I strongly belief that we all are a little racist but not consciously, the culture we live in gave us the habit of using racial terms without know that we are using them; in addition we should learn to accept that the racism is universal.

While previous psychological studies have shown that racism, sexism and ageism tend to be universal, a new study led by Paul Verhaeghen, professor in Georgia Tech’s School of Psychology, found that works in the American culture, namely literature, movies, TV, radio and the Internet, may contribute to the problem by exhibiting the same stereotypes that society works so hard to snuff out. “There’s one idea that people tend to associate black people with violence, women with weakness, or older people with forgetfulness — because they are prejudiced. But there’s another possibility that what’s in your head is not you, it’s the culture around you,” said Verhaeghen.

(http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/09/110929144713.htm)

We are accustom to talking the way we do because of the culture we live in, its part of our norm. It is everywhere; the way we socialize with each other and the technology we use for example the internet. We can read about racism, or even see it in another person sometimes, but we can never experience it because we are unaware about out actions it is in our unconscious mind.

We should be aware that the invisibility of (different types of race) privileges is out there, and that it informs what we do in ways that we don’t always see. We need to understand that there is a structure of racism; we sometimes deny that fact because everyone is a little bit racist, we all cancel one another out, so everyone is fine.

A group of psychologist conducts a study that shows that we are a little racist. They hand out timed questionnaire to their participants designed to rate the amount of prejudice (both negative and positive) they exhibited. For more information on how this study went feel free to visit the following:

(http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/09/110929144713.htm)

The Following are links of 2 video clips that help also to illustrate my point of view about how we use racist phrase with each other and sometimes not aware about it.

http://underthebutton.com/2011/10/everyones-a-little-bit-racist/

http://dai.ly/bbA9v7

5 responses

  1. I agree with the idea that everyone is a little racist. It is due to the media but I also feel that it has to do with a person’s upbringing and area they live in. I think parents play a role in shaping their child’s perception of others. My parents didn’t really do this but growing up if someone was anything other than black or hispanic they stood out. As time has gone on, I tend not to look at people because of their race but because of their character. Traveling throughout the city and how people look at you in certain neighborhoods has shown me that everyone is racist and its not just a black or white thing. There are people who live in ghettos and never been to suburban or rural areas and think only certain people live there and vice versa. In my case, when I began dating outside of my race I’d notice people would make certain comments and/or jokes about the person I’m seeing.

  2. edcast2 says:

    I agree with this post. In the 21st century in America, there are so many sources of information that a child or teenager absorbs through various mediums. Parents may teach kids to expect racism or prejudice. People are mostly likely to experience or witness prejudice in schools, at work, and in other institutions and a myriad of media forms from television, news channels, newspapers, forum board comments as well as blog posts make people think and re-evaluate their physical surroundings and who we react with on a day to day basis. In addition, if someone who walks in neighborhood everyday and consistently sees negative racial stereotypes constantly reinforced, I would presume that regardless of their mindset, it would difficult to not prejudge a specific group, especially with constant exposure.

  3. asha says:

    This was a very interesting post. In one of my previous psychology classes, we were talking about how people can be unconsciously racist. The media makes jokes out of racial stereotypes, even if they mean no harm, they subconsciously shape your thinking. And with these stereotypes in the media, you sometimes tend to apply them in reality, even if you don’t know you are doing it. I think the media just helps spread these stereotypes as fast as we do so ourselves. Not only that, it is misleading to children as well, and they will usually say whatever comes to their mind freely, without knowing the serious consequences of engaging in racial stereotypes, as they are innocent and naive.

  4. chypor says:

    I completely agree with this idea. Though most people will not admit to being racist, even a little, I can admit that at times I can be – even towards my own race. Although media plays a large role in how people view others, it is also life experience. If you are not exposed to people of other races and cultural backgrounds growing up, you will most likely have views on those people based on media or what others tell you. I can say that from experience, although I consider myself black, I did not grow up around other black people besides my family, and I have found myself judging other black people based on certain stereotypes. I think environment is the main factor in the problem of racism.

  5. This is grate post. I agree that all of as is little bit resist, because of the culture we live in. Additionally, I think that we people label other using stereotypes to organised the world around ourselves. This way we fill more comfortable more save because, something what was unfamiliar to as before we can named and this way its become something what we know. I think that many of the stereotypes have some true in it, but at the same time is a simplified, uncompleted and subjective picture of the stereotyped subject.