As I was surfing through the internet the other day I came across this article. I was very intrigued immediately when I saw the title of this article because it was directly related to the class discussion we had on Friday, 12/2/2011. The article mainly speaks about how male African American high school students are much more likely to fail then their fellow white classmates. Lavar Young, the author of this article, attacks this issue in a very vigorous manner almost as if he were to be shouting it at you. The part in this article that really caught my eye was the statistics that he gave because it brought me back to our discussion in class about how education is directly related to social, economic and cultural capitol.

Young states that, “Two-thirds of black children live in single parent households, which is three times that of white children.” Growing up in a single parent household compared to living with a father and a mother have completely different social, cultural and economic capitols. For example a single parent has to work much harder in every aspect of life compared to a two parent household with a mother and a father. Single parents often work so many hours that they cannot help their children with school work or guidance as much as they would like to so that child may lead a much different path than a student of a two parent household who receives constant tutoring and mentoring from their parents. A single parent has to do everything on their own so it is much harder for them to monitor their child’s education as closely as a two parent family could. This is one reason that helps explain why African American students are more likely to drop out of high school compared to their white classmates. If 2/3’s of African American kids are growing up in a single parent household, than clearly there is going to be a difference between them and white kids. Also another huge factor is economic capitol.

Money pretty much decides everything when it comes to education. We all know that the more money you have, the better education that you can get. As we discussed on Friday, graduation rates directly correlate with economic capitol. In this article Lavar Young spits out a statistic that proves this to be true especially among African Americans being that, “one-third live in poverty, compared with one tenth of their white counterparts.” The less money you have the less of an education you get and this statistic makes that completely obvious because so many more African American’s are under the poverty line compared to whites. Graduation rates are clearly going to show a huge difference when ten times more African Americans are suffering from poverty compared to whites.

Although I did not like the way that Lavar Young wrote this article, it was very true. I don’t think that he approached the topic in the correct manner, but he definitely got his point across. I think that something needs to be done about this but before we start on the education, in my opinion we need to start on the poverty first.

(Here’s the URL below in case you are interested!)

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lavar-young/black-male-achievement_b_1121379.html

2 responses

  1. MariamDiop says:

    I’m very disapointed by blacks people from United States. After all the effort Marthin Luther King, Malcom X have fought for her. But I think they should forget racism and segregation in order to focus on their life for better outcome. But all most of them have in their mind is the discrimination of white people and they think they cannot do anything about it.

  2. Christina says:

    I believe that everyone has a unique situation growing up and their race/ethnicity really does not effect their situation. I’m white, I grew up with a single parent, and I graduated highschool. I was usually under the care of a babysitter, as my mother worked several jobs to support me, my sister, and herself. It is because the morals and values my mother raised me with I completed school. It states in this article that money determines what type of education you recieve, which is true. However, it does not determine whether or not you complete school.